View active topics

(LMSC members can login to see more options)

Weather and Site choice advice - request for support

We are re-structuring the forums, so that all topics will appear here, rather than being split up into the various different areas. The advantage of this is that it will be easier to navigate; and topics with the most recent posts will appear at the top of the list.

Weather and Site choice advice - request for support

Postby Dave Thomas » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:50 pm

We would like some additional support from suitably experienced pilots to help with updating our weekly forecasts. It's not on any scheduled basis, just as and when you have time and the weather makes it worthwhile posting.

Apparently Geoff and I have been doing the forum weather guidance since May 2013, which is a very long time to have been at it. We are intending on carrying on, as we have over the years received a lot of thanks from pilots who have benefitted from our thoughts. We are not always right, but we've followed up on our own advice afterwards to match against reality, and are probably around 90% right which considering it's only based on multiple weather forecasts, is pretty damned good really. This all started because I used to spend so much time trawling through forecasts in the sometimes (often) vain hope of finding one that gave me the chance to fly, I thought it would be useful to put all that wasted internet trawling to use and share it.